Aston Martin Aramco F1 Team: Business Intelligence Profile
Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team posted revenue of £280.7 million in the year ended 31 December 2024 — a 14.7% year-on-year increase and the fourth-highest figure in the Formula One paddock — yet still recorded a net loss of £45.8 million, extending a run of five consecutive loss-making years and pushing its cumulative deficit since 2020 to £189.5 million. [BlackBook Motorsport] [The Judge 13]
The team is betting on a structural reset in 2026: a works power unit partnership with Honda, Adrian Newey transitioning to Team Principal, and continued infrastructure investment outside the Formula One cost cap. Whether that combination converts revenue scale into competitive and financial returns is the central question for anyone with a significant interest in this organisation. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team] [Honda Motor Co., Ltd.]
A British Formula One constructor reborn in 2021 under Lawrence Stroll's ownership
Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team is a Formula One constructor based at Silverstone, Northamptonshire, competing in the FIA Formula One World Championship under the Aston Martin name since the 2021 season.
The team competes as a constructor — meaning it designs and builds its own chassis — in the FIA Formula One World Championship, the premier global single-seater racing series. Its legal operating entity is AMR GP Limited, and it is headquartered at Dadford Road, Silverstone, Northamptonshire NN12 8TJ in the United Kingdom. The Aston Martin name entered Formula One at the start of the 2021 season, when Canadian businessman Lawrence Stroll — who acquired the historic Aston Martin Lagonda car brand separately — relaunched what had previously been the Racing Point team. [LinkedIn] [Formula 1] [Wikipedia] [Aston Martin F1 Team] [Liquipedia]
The team's identity has two distinct layers. The Aston Martin name provides the heritage branding — green livery, a recognisable British automotive marque — while Saudi Arabian state energy company Aramco became the exclusive title partner from 1 January 2024, giving the full competition name 'Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team'. Aramco is a commercial partner and sponsor, not an owner of the British racing structure. Lawrence Stroll remains the controlling shareholder and serves as Executive Chairman. [Democrata] [Demòcrata]
The team's commercial activities extend beyond race competition. It operates an official merchandise store — the Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team Store — selling teamwear, driver-branded products, and licensed goods such as co-branded Timex watches. The team also actively recruits technical and commercial staff, with its Silverstone factory serving as both engineering base and the physical centre of its operations. On the sustainability side, the team has been certified to ISO 14001 Environmental Management Standard and claims to be the first Formula One team compliant with ISO 50001, a globally recognised energy management standard. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team] [Aston Martin F1 Team]
The company identity corpus is well sourced from primary team communications and official Formula One records. The team's distinction between the Aston Martin brand (automotive heritage) and the Aramco title (commercial partnership) is confirmed across multiple primary sources.
Revenue is growing fast; losses are not narrowing fast enough
Four years of publicly filed accounts tell a consistent story: Aston Martin Aramco is building commercial scale but has not yet converted it into profit, with the cumulative deficit since 2020 reaching £189.5 million.
For the year ended 31 December 2024, the team recorded total revenue of £280.7 million — a 14.7% increase on the prior year. That places it fourth in the Formula One paddock by revenue, behind Mercedes, McLaren, and Red Bull, according to reporting on City A.M. analysis. The revenue growth was driven by rising sponsorship and licensing income, per [Sportcal].
| Category | Revenue (£m) | Net loss (£m) |
|---|---|---|
| 2024 | 280.7 | -45.8 |
Cost growth is running slower than revenue growth, which is a marginal positive sign. Cost of sales reached £181.1 million in 2024, an 11.5% year-on-year increase against the 14.7% revenue rise. [The Judge 13] attributed this cost growth to the increasing complexity of operating a modern Formula One programme. Yet the team still posted a net loss of £45.8 million for 2024, its fifth consecutive loss-making year since adopting the Aston Martin name.
The cumulative impact is significant. Since 2020, the team has accumulated total losses of £189.5 million — confirmed by [The Judge 13] — or approximately £190 million by [City A.M.]'s rounding. These losses have been funded by shareholder capital, primarily through Lawrence Stroll's ownership consortium. The team's total annual budget is estimated at $250–270 million when infrastructure investments outside the Formula One cost cap are included, per a document reported by.
Revenue sources include investment from Lawrence Stroll and his consortium, title sponsorship from Aramco and technology partner Cognizant, prize money from the FIA Formula One Championship, and brand partnerships and merchandise. The team adheres to the Formula One cost cap on racing operations but continues parallel infrastructure investments not subject to that cap — meaning its total financial commitment to Formula One is materially larger than the regulated ceiling. [Scribd (uploaded document)]
One additional financial development sits outside the core trading results: in 2026, the Aston Martin car company — a separate listed entity from the racing team — announced it would permanently sell the right to use its name in Formula One to the F1 team for £50 million. [The Guardian] reported this as part of Aston Martin Lagonda's efforts to shore up its own balance sheet. This transaction formalises the licensing arrangement between the car brand and the racing operation, transferring a long-term cost from the team to an upfront asset acquisition.
Financial data for 2024 is drawn from BlackBook Motorsport and The Judge 13, both of which cite filed accounts — assessed as reliable secondary reporting of primary filings. The annual budget estimate of $250–270 million comes from a Scribd-uploaded document assessed as tertiary; treat as indicative rather than audited. No per-year revenue or loss figures for 2021, 2022, or 2023 were individually confirmed in the corpus, so those years are not broken out in the trend narrative.
Sponsorship is the commercial engine; on-track prize money is structurally secondary
Aston Martin Aramco generates revenue through a layered commercial model: a high-value title sponsorship anchored by Aramco, a portfolio of principal and technology partners, Formula One prize money, and merchandise — but sponsorship concentration at the top of that stack is high.
The team competes as a Formula One constructor, which means its primary operational purpose is designing, building, and racing its own cars in the FIA Formula One World Championship. That sporting activity is the platform from which all commercial value is derived: the cars carry sponsor branding, the team name reflects its title partner, and prize money flows from championship results. The official team website is astonmartinf1.com, presenting the operation as the Aston Martin F1 Team. Its physical home — the Aston Martin Racing Technology Campus at Dadford Road, Silverstone — houses design, manufacturing, and trackside operations. [Formula 1] [Aston Martin F1 Team]
The commercial model's centrepiece is the Aramco title partnership. Aramco pays an estimated $75–95 million per year for exclusive title partner rights, which include team naming rights, fuel research and development collaboration, and car branding, per [F1Salaries.com]. This five-year deal, running from January 2024 through to 2028, was confirmed by [Aramco] and [Reuters]. Together, [Sportcal] reports the sponsorship portfolio — led by Aramco and Cognizant — generates over $93 million annually.
Concentration within that sponsorship portfolio is notable. The top five partners, including Puma and LVMH alongside Aramco and Cognizant, account for 70% of total sponsorship income, per [Sportcal]. This concentration is a standard feature of elite Formula One commercial models but it does mean the team's revenue base is exposed to the renewal decisions of a small number of large partners. Cognizant provides AI, cloud, and data integration services and receives co-branded content in return, per [RTR Sports Marketing].
Beyond sponsorship, revenue streams include Formula One prize money — distributed by Formula One Management based on constructors' championship position — and merchandise sales through the official team store. Prize money is structurally secondary: a fifth-place finish in 2024 with 94 constructors' points produced a significantly smaller prize allocation than a top-three finish would generate. The team also invests in infrastructure outside the Formula One cost cap — spending that does not appear in the regulated racing budget but is captured in the team's statutory accounts. [Scribd (uploaded document)] [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
On the sustainability and certification front, the team holds ISO 14001 Environmental Management certification and claims status as the first Formula One team compliant with ISO 50001 energy management standard. These certifications serve both an internal operational function and an external brand-positioning purpose — particularly relevant given the team's primary sponsor is a major oil and gas producer. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
Sponsorship figures from Sportcal and F1Salaries.com are secondary estimates based on public data; neither a full audited breakdown of sponsorship income nor the verified text of the Aramco contract has been publicly released. The $93 million sponsorship portfolio figure and the $75–95 million Aramco estimate are sourced from different outlets and should be read as analyst estimates rather than confirmed contractual values.
Lawrence Stroll controls the team; a diverse investor group holds minority positions
The Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team is controlled by Lawrence Stroll through a holding structure, with a widening base of minority investors including Arctos, HPS, the Public Investment Fund of Saudi Arabia, Woody Johnson, and Adrian Newey.
| Shareholder / Interest | Role / Category | Reported Stake or Position | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Racing Point UK Holdings Limited (Lawrence Stroll) | Controlling shareholder vehicle | >25% to ≤50% of AMR GP Holdings shares | UK Companies House registered; Stroll serves as Executive Chairman |
| Arctos | Institutional investor (minority) | Other significant ownership interest | Listed alongside other minority holders |
| HPS | Institutional investor (minority) | Other significant ownership interest | Listed alongside other minority holders |
| PIF (Public Investment Fund) | Institutional investor (minority) | Other significant ownership interest | Listed alongside other minority holders |
| Robert 'Woody' Johnson | Former US Ambassador to the United Kingdom (minority) | Minority stake | US businessman and sports team owner; stake acquired as reported August 2026 |
| Adrian Newey | Team Principal and Managing Technical Partner | Management / technical partner interest | Also holds board role as Team Principal |
| Management interests | Internal management | Management interest | Listed as part of other significant ownership |
| Aston Martin Lagonda | Former minority shareholder (carmaker) | 4.6% (sold, announced July 2025) | Remaining stake sold for approx. £110 million ($146 million) |
The legal entity that operates the team is AMR GP Limited. Above it sits AMR GP Holdings, with Lawrence Stroll's vehicle — Racing Point UK Holdings Limited — recorded by UK Companies House as holding more than 25% but no more than 50% of AMR GP Holdings' shares. Stroll serves as Executive Chairman and is described across multiple sources as the controlling shareholder. [Wikipedia] [The Race] [Demòcrata] [Democrata]
The minority ownership base is broad and has expanded materially. [The Race] identifies significant minority positions held by Arctos, HPS, the Public Investment Fund of Saudi Arabia (PIF), Woody Johnson, Adrian Newey, and management. Robert 'Woody' Johnson — US businessman, sports team owner, and former US ambassador to the UK — acquired his minority stake in August 2026, per [Sportcal]. Newey holds an equity interest as part of his management package, aligning his financial incentives with the team's performance.
Aston Martin Lagonda, the separately listed car company, previously held a minority equity stake in the racing team. In July 2025, it announced the sale of its remaining 4.6% stake for approximately £110 million, per [Sportcal]. This transaction severed the last meaningful equity link between the car brand and the racing operation — the two are now connected through the separately negotiated naming rights agreement worth £50 million, not through shared ownership.
Aramco's role must be clearly distinguished from ownership. It is a strategic partner and title sponsor; it does not hold equity in the British racing structure, per [Democrata]. The five-year sponsorship agreement running to 2028 gives Aramco significant commercial presence — its name is in the team name — but no governance rights over team operations or strategy.
UK Companies House data is a reliable primary source for the Stroll-controlled holding entity's declared stake range. Individual minority stakes for Arctos, HPS, PIF, and Newey are not individually quantified in the corpus — The Race names them as significant holders without disclosing specific percentages.
The 2025–26 leadership restructure divides strategy, technical direction, and trackside operations across three experienced figures
Within 14 months of Andy Cowell joining as CEO, the team restructured again — moving Cowell to Chief Strategy Officer, positioning Adrian Newey as Team Principal for 2026, and retaining Mike Krack as Chief Trackside Officer.
Andy Cowell joined Aston Martin Aramco on 1 October 2024 as Group Chief Executive Officer, reporting to Executive Chairman Lawrence Stroll. He had previously led Mercedes-AMG High Performance Powertrains, the engine division behind multiple Formula One constructors' championship titles. On 10 January 2025, the team restructured: Cowell formally became CEO and Team Principal, replacing Mike Krack in the team principal role as part of what the team described as a shift to a flatter structure. Krack moved to the role of Chief Trackside Officer, retaining operational responsibility at race weekends. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team] [The Straits Times] [Liquipedia]
By November 2025, the structure changed again. Cowell moved to a new role as Chief Strategy Officer, focused on improving the technical partnership between the team, Honda, Aramco, and Valvoline. Adrian Newey — who had joined the team as Managing Technical Partner — took on the role of Team Principal from 2026, guiding the technical team and trackside operations. Executive Chairman Lawrence Stroll continues to lead the business functions of the team. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
The logic behind the division is that each of the three roles plays to a distinct strength: Newey on technical direction and race operations, Cowell on the commercial and technical partnership strategy, Stroll on the business. Enrico Cardile was appointed F1 Chief Technical Officer alongside Cowell's original CEO appointment, further broadening the senior technical bench. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
Mike Krack's background spans over 20 years in motorsport. Before joining Aston Martin in January 2022 as Team Principal, he led BMW's global motorsport operation and held senior roles at Porsche, and worked in Formula One engineering for Sauber and BMW-Sauber, including alongside Sebastian Vettel in 2006 and 2007. Krack served as Team Principal from January 2022 to January 2025, a period that included the team's best competitive result — fifth in the 2024 constructors' championship — before stepping into the trackside officer role. [Aston Martin Cognizant Formula One Team] [BBC Sport] [Liquipedia] [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
Leadership facts are drawn primarily from official team announcements — the most reliable source for role titles, appointment dates, and stated rationale. The volume of restructuring within 14 months (three role configurations for the CEO/Team Principal position) is factually documented across primary sources.
Fifth in the 2024 constructors' championship — well funded but a wide gap to the front
Aston Martin Aramco scored 94 points in the 2024 Formula One constructors' championship, finishing fifth — well behind the top four teams and only modestly ahead of the midfield.
The 2024 constructors' championship standings confirmed the competitive picture precisely. McLaren led on 666 points, Ferrari second on 652, Red Bull third on 589, and Mercedes fourth on 468. Aston Martin scored 94 — less than one-fifth of McLaren's tally — to finish fifth, ahead of Alpine, Haas, RB, Williams, and Sauber. The gap to the top four is not marginal; it reflects a meaningful technical deficit in car performance. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
The team's commercial infrastructure is, however, significantly stronger than its on-track position suggests. The Aramco title deal — valued at an estimated $75–95 million per year, per [F1Salaries.com], running exclusively to 2028 — gives the team a revenue base more consistent with a front-running constructor. Honda's works power unit partnership, effective from the 2026 season, is the most consequential technical upgrade in the team's history: as a works partner, Aston Martin will receive the same specification power unit as Honda's factory team rather than a customer-grade supply.
The partnership portfolio is broad. Ma'aden (Saudi mining company) holds a principal partner position with primary car surface branding; Cognizant provides official technology partnership covering AI, cloud, and data integration; and JCB joined as a sponsor partner in 2026. The team's sustainability credentials — ISO 14001 and the claimed first-mover on ISO 50001 — differentiate it in partner conversations where ESG positioning matters. [RTR Sports Marketing] [JCB] [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
The 2026 regulations represent the most significant rule change in Formula One in years: new chassis, new power unit specifications, and new aerodynamic rules that reset the competitive order. The combination of Adrian Newey's technical leadership, a Honda works power unit, and infrastructure investments made outside the cost cap positions Aston Martin Aramco as a credible aspirant for a step forward. Whether 'aspirant' translates to 'challenger' will only be visible in race results. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
Constructors' championship standings are confirmed from the official team website and are reliable primary data. The competitive gap to the top four is straightforwardly derivable from those standings. Forward-looking competitive assessments regarding 2026 are based on stated team ambition and confirmed structural changes, not forecast performance.
Three moves define 2026: Honda works partnership, Newey as Team Principal, and a cybersecurity deal signalling data-protection priority
Aston Martin Aramco has made its bet in 2026 explicit — a works-grade power unit from Honda, a technical leadership restructure placing Adrian Newey at the top, and a new multi-year cybersecurity partnership with Zscaler to protect race-critical data.
The Honda works partnership is the most operationally significant commitment the team has made. Honda confirmed in January 2026 that it will supply power units to Aston Martin Aramco from the 2026 season as a works partner — meaning Aston Martin receives Honda's own-specification unit rather than a rebadged customer engine. The partnership was formally celebrated at a launch event in Tokyo. In Formula One, the difference between a works and customer power unit is both technical (specification and development priority) and commercial (terms, exclusivity, and the depth of the engineering relationship). [Honda Motor Co., Ltd.] [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
The leadership restructure announced in November 2025 is explicitly framed around 2026 readiness. Andy Cowell moves to Chief Strategy Officer to focus on the Honda, Aramco, and Valvoline technical partnerships; Adrian Newey takes Team Principal responsibility for guiding the technical team and trackside operations; and Mike Krack continues as Chief Trackside Officer at races. The team stated that these changes were designed to ensure the leadership team is well prepared to play to its collective strengths in 2026. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team]
On 25 June 2026, the team announced a multi-year partnership with Zscaler, a cybersecurity platform provider. The agreement gives Aston Martin Aramco access to Zscaler's Zero Trust Exchange platform to protect car design data, race strategy, and real-time data flows between the track and the UK-based race technology centre. In a sport where aerodynamic designs and strategy algorithms are commercially sensitive intellectual property — and where data travels continuously between factory and circuit — the cybersecurity partnership reflects a genuine operational priority, not only a commercial arrangement. [GlobeNewswire]
All strategic moves are confirmed from primary sources — Honda's own press release, official team announcements, and GlobeNewswire for the Zscaler partnership. No forward-looking financial projections associated with these moves are available in the corpus.
Two cost cap procedural breaches, both resolved without penalty; one supplier lawsuit ongoing
Aston Martin Aramco has been found in procedural breach of Formula One's financial regulations twice — in 2021 and 2024 — in both cases without a finding of sporting advantage or financial penalty, while a separate legal action against an Italian supplier remains live.
The FIA Cost Cap Administration issued its compliance assessment for the 2021 reporting period on 10 October 2022, finding Aston Martin in procedural breach of the Formula One Financial Regulations. The finding related to process rather than to exceeding the cost cap itself. A separate investigation in May 2022 — triggered by similarities between Aston Martin's upgraded AMR22 car and Red Bull's RB18 — concluded that no wrongdoing had been committed: the FIA confirmed Aston Martin's aerodynamic upgrades were compliant with technical regulations, following a full CAD check and development process audit. [FIA] [Formula 1]
The 2024 reporting period produced a second procedural breach finding. On 29 September 2025, AMR GP Ltd entered into an Accepted Breach Agreement with the FIA Cost Cap Administration after failing to deliver signed copies of its audited annual financial statements by the March deadline. [Reuters] reported that the FIA described it as a 'very minor' procedural infraction attributable to unpredictable factors beyond the team's control. No financial penalties were levied; the FIA confirmed there was no allegation or evidence that the team had sought or gained any unfair advantage.
Separately, in 2025 Aston Martin — the car company, not the racing team — initiated legal proceedings in the UK High Court against IMR Industries, an Italian supplier that halted deliveries over concerns about the car company's financial stability. [IndexBox] reported that Aston Martin sought a permanent injunction to compel IMR to resume deliveries, with a temporary injunction already granted. This litigation relates to the Aston Martin Lagonda car business and its supply chain, rather than to the racing team directly, but it is evidence of the broader financial pressure across the Aston Martin brand ecosystem.
On the planning and infrastructure side, West Northamptonshire Council granted full planning permission for a major development at the Buckingham Road, Silverstone site on 24 July 2025, enabling further expansion of the race technology campus. An earlier application at the same site received permission in March 2023. The team holds ISO 14001 environmental certification and operates under GDPR and UK ICO frameworks; no completed data protection enforcement action against the team has been identified in the reviewed evidence, per [OpenIntel].
Both cost cap procedural breach findings are well sourced — the 2022 FIA statement is a primary source; the 2025 breach resolution is confirmed by Reuters and SI.com. The IMR Industries litigation involves the Aston Martin Lagonda car company, not the F1 racing team directly — the distinction is maintained in the narrative. Planning permissions are sourced from PlanIndex and West Northamptonshire Council records.
Key things to remember
Analyst view The evidence presents a team with genuine commercial scale — [BlackBook Motorsport] confirms £280.7 million in 2024 revenue, ranking it fourth among all Formula One constructors — but one that has not yet translated that scale into financial sustainability after five years of losses totalling £189.5 million. [The Judge 13] The 2026 restructure, combining a Honda works power unit with Adrian Newey's technical leadership, represents the most substantive operational change since Lawrence Stroll acquired the team. [Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team] The condition that would change this view is straightforward: if the 2026 regulations produce a competitive result — translated into improved constructors' standings and therefore higher Formula One prize money — the revenue-to-profitability gap could narrow meaningfully. If the competitive step does not materialise, the team faces the same structural dynamic: high fixed costs, a cost cap ceiling on racing spend, and losses funded by shareholder capital.
About About this report
This report covers Aston Martin Aramco Formula One Team — its business model, financial trajectory, ownership structure, leadership, competitive standing, and strategic direction as of 2026.
Written for journalists, investors, potential partners, and executives requiring a sourced outside-in assessment before any significant decision involving the team.
Analysis was constructed from pre-verified sourced facts retrieved across regulatory filings, official team communications, Formula One governance documents, specialist motorsport and financial press, and planning authority records.
Primary financial data covers the year ended 31 December 2024; leadership and strategic facts extend to June 2026. No citable data was retrieved for customer and commercial concentration or stakeholder perception and ESG topics.
Figures appear primarily in British pounds sterling (£) as reported by the team; one sponsorship estimate from Sportcal and F1Salaries.com is denominated in US dollars (USD). No currency conversions have been applied.
Foundation Methods behind this report
Ren structures the evidence in this report using the methods below. They shape how the findings are organised and read.
Maps board structure, ownership concentration, and capital-allocation decisions to reveal where control and influence actually sit. Reads governance against agency dynamics rather than against the org chart.
Source: Established governance practice (agency theory; Jensen & Meckling, 1976)
Renatus applies the underlying principles of established methods and credits their origin where relevant. Named frameworks, methods, and instruments are the property of their respective owners. Reference to them does not imply endorsement or affiliation.
Sources Sources & Methodology
Research conducted 22 Sep 2026. All statistics carry inline citation markers.
This report is produced for informational purposes only. It does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. All data is sourced from publicly available information as at the date of research. Renatus Ventures makes no representations as to the completeness or accuracy of third-party data.
Cumulative losses since 2020 — The Judge 13: £189.5 million vs City A.M. (via MSN): £190 million. The Judge 13 figure of £189.5 million is used as the more precise stated value; City A.M.'s £190 million is a rounded equivalent. Both are cited where relevant.
No citable data was retrieved for the Customer and Commercial Concentration cluster — prize money allocation by finishing position and individual partner contract values are not publicly disclosed.
No citable data was retrieved for Stakeholder Perception and ESG — no verified employee satisfaction data, independent ESG ratings, or fan sentiment research was available in the corpus.
Individual annual revenue and net loss figures for 2021, 2022, and 2023 were not individually confirmed in the corpus; only the 2024 figures and the cumulative 2020–2024 deficit are sourced, preventing a full year-by-year trend chart.
Individual minority equity percentages for Arctos, HPS, PIF, Woody Johnson, and management interests are not publicly disclosed; The Race names them as significant holders without quantifying stakes.
The Aramco and Cognizant contract values are analyst estimates from Sportcal and F1Salaries.com, not confirmed contractual figures — treat as indicative.
Some reported figures could not be fully reconciled against the available published evidence; relevant sections identify the source and basis used.
less than one-fifth of McLaren's tally (in “Fifth in the 2024 constructors' championship — well funded but a wide gap to the front”) could not be verified against the retrieval corpus; the citation is retained but could not be confirmed from the retrieved sources.
less than one-sixth of championship leaders McLaren (in “Fifth in the 2024 constructors' championship — well funded but a wide gap to the front”) could not be verified against the retrieval corpus; the citation is retained but could not be confirmed from the retrieved sources.