Audi Formula One Team: Business Model, Financial Scale, and Strategic Trajectory
Audi entered Formula One in 2026 as a full factory team — owning 100% of Sauber Holding AG, building its own chassis in Hinwil, Switzerland, and manufacturing its own hybrid power unit in Neuburg, Germany — with a combined regulated budget ceiling of $405 million for the 2026 season alone.
The predecessor team, Sauber, reported revenue of $240 million and an operating loss of $25 million in 2025, the final year before the Audi rebrand. [Audi AG (company website)] [Sportsorca] [Forbes] [Sportune]
The structural tension is that Audi is committing an estimated £2 billion through 2030 to a motorsport program at the same time its parent group, Volkswagen AG, faces significant financial pressure in its core automotive business. The team has secured title partner Revolut, technical partner bp, and apparel partner adidas, and has sold a reported 30% stake to Qatar Investment Authority — a move that brought external capital but also signals the scale of the funding challenge ahead. [GP Fans] [Audi MediaCenter] [Autoweek]
Audi Revolut F1 Team is a full factory team building its own car and engine from three sites across three countries.
Starting in 2026, Audi AG competes in the FIA Formula 1 World Championship with its own chassis, its own hybrid power unit, and drivers Nico Hülkenberg and Gabriel Bortoleto — a scope that places it among the handful of manufacturers supplying both car and engine in the sport's top tier.
The Audi Revolut F1 Team is the Formula One works team of Audi AG, a subsidiary of the Volkswagen Group. It competes in the FIA Formula 1 World Championship from the 2026 season with its own chassis — designated the R26 — and its own power unit, the AFR 26 Hybrid. The team's legal and operational structure is built on the acquisition of the Sauber Group, the Swiss constructor that competed under various identities for more than three decades. Audi took 100% of Sauber Holding AG, completing the acquisition ahead of the 2026 season. [Audi AG] [Formula One Group]
Race car development and race operations are based at an F1 factory in Hinwil in the canton of Zurich, around 30 kilometres from the city. The hybrid power unit is developed and manufactured at Audi Formula Racing GmbH — a purpose-built entity — in Neuburg an der Donau in Bavaria, Germany. A third site at Bicester Motion in Oxfordshire, United Kingdom, serves as a technology centre. This three-site model is unusual in Formula One: most teams consolidate all functions at a single location, typically in southern England. [Audi AG (company website)]
The team competes under the commercial name Audi Revolut F1 Team, reflecting a title partnership with the British fintech company Revolut. It operates as a constructor and power unit manufacturer simultaneously — the most capital-intensive model in the sport — rather than taking a customer power unit from an established supplier. As a full factory team, it develops the power unit and chassis as a single integrated concept. The primary customers of the program are, in effect, the Audi brand and its parent group: the team does not supply power units to other constructors and generates its commercial returns through sponsorship, prize money, and brand value rather than through third-party engine sales. [Wikipedia] [Audi AG]
Audi formally entered the FIA Formula 1 World Championship for the first time in 2026. The Neuburg facility, which develops the power unit, is stated by Audi to be the only operational site of an F1 team located in Germany. The team employs over 1,100 staff across its three sites, all covered within the FIA cost cap framework except for the three highest-paid employees. [Audi] [Auto Zeitung]
No audited headcount breakdown by site is available in the retrieved corpus. The 1,100-plus staff figure is drawn from Auto Zeitung's reporting on the FIA cost cap scope.
Audi inherited a loss-making team and is committing an estimated £2 billion through 2030 under a two-cap regulatory framework.
The predecessor Sauber team generated $240 million in revenue in 2025 with a $25 million operating loss — the financial baseline Audi absorbed. The 2026 regulated budget ceiling rises to $405 million across two separate FIA caps, and cumulative program costs through 2030 are estimated at around £2 billion.
In 2025 — the final season before the Audi rebrand — the Sauber team reported revenue of $240 million and a net result of -$25 million. Forbes reported the revenue figure in US dollars; Sportune, citing the same financial year, reported both the revenue and net result in euros at the same magnitudes, indicating the two sources are drawing on the same disclosed figures. The -$25 million net result means Audi entered its first works season with a team that had not been profitable in its most recent reported year, even before the step-change in costs associated with full factory operations. [Forbes] [Sportune]
| Period | Revenue | Operating Result |
|---|---|---|
| 2025 | 240 M USD | -25 M USD |
From 2026, the team's finances are governed by two separate FIA-mandated cost caps. The team cost cap — covering chassis development, race operations, logistics, and most staff salaries — is set at $215 million for a 24-race season, rising by $1.8 million for each race beyond that baseline. The power unit program operates under a separate cap of $190 million in the inaugural 2026 season and in subsequent seasons; pre-entry development years (the N-3 to N-1 reporting periods) were subject to a lower cap of $148.5 million. Together, the two caps set a combined regulated ceiling of $405 million, though senior driver salaries and certain other items fall outside these caps. [Sportsorca]
Auto Zeitung reports Audi's total Formula 1 budget for 2026 at $345 million — a figure that reflects the two cost caps combined, with the power unit cap at a separately cited level of approximately $130 million in that source's presentation. The discrepancy between the $345 million total cited by Auto Zeitung and the $405 million combined ceiling implied by the FIA regulations reflects the distinction between what Audi is permitted to spend under each cap and what it actually plans to spend. Both figures are cited as reported; neither has been independently verified against a filed Audi budget. [Auto Zeitung]
GP Fans estimates the total cost of Audi's Formula One entry at around £2 billion through approximately 2030, counting the Sauber acquisition at approximately £485 million, engine development at approximately £525 million, and annual running costs — including in-scope cost cap spending and driver contracts — at approximately £260 million per year. This is an analyst estimate, not a disclosed Audi figure, and should be treated as an order-of-magnitude indicator rather than a precise commitment. What the figure does establish is that Formula One is, by any measure, among the largest capital commitments Audi AG has made in recent years — and the program's internal rate of return is denominated almost entirely in brand value rather than direct financial returns. [GP Fans]
No audited Audi-era financials for the 2026 season have been published in the retrieved corpus. The 2025 figures are reported by Forbes and Sportune and have not been independently verified against filed accounts. The GP Fans £2 billion estimate is a third-party projection and is flagged as such.
Formula One is the platform; the return is brand value, not direct profit — and the cost cap is what makes entry financially rational.
Audi's Formula One business model rests on using the sport's global audience to reposition the brand, with the FIA cost cap providing a defined budget ceiling and the sport's commercial ecosystem generating sponsorship and prize revenue to offset a substantial portion of operating cost.
The Audi Revolut F1 Team does not exist to generate a financial return on its own racing operations. Audi describes the Formula One project explicitly as a strategic flagship intended to reflect the brand's technological, cultural, and entrepreneurial realignment. The team's revenue model has two primary streams: sponsorship income from named partners, and prize money distributed through the Formula One Constructors' Championship. Formula One teams collectively received more than $2 billion in sponsorship revenue in 2024, with an additional approximately $1.3 billion from television rights and entry fees distributed across the field. A new entrant at the back of the grid receives a smaller share of the prize fund than an established top team, which means Audi's near-term commercial returns from the sport itself are structurally limited. [Audi Media Center] [Audi AG]
The integrated works model — building both chassis and power unit in-house rather than taking a customer engine — is the defining feature of Audi's approach. This gives the team full control over the performance envelope of both components and the ability to improve power unit and chassis as a single system. The AFR 26 Hybrid power unit is designed so that approximately 50% of total drivetrain power comes from the electric recovery system — a ratio that aligns closely with the new 2026 technical regulations that significantly increased the hybrid power component relative to the previous formula. The technical case for entering as a manufacturer rather than a customer team is that the 2026 regulations created a reset: every manufacturer started from a blank sheet, reducing the advantage that established suppliers had built over years of incremental development. [Audi AG] [Audi]
The FIA cost cap is central to the business case. Audi characterises the cost cap as providing a clearly defined budget and levelled conditions — a framework that makes the investment more predictable than an uncapped spending environment would be. The team cost cap at $215 million covers development, race operations, logistics, and most salaries; the three highest-paid employees — which in Audi's case are described by Auto Zeitung as including CEO Mattia Binotto and team operations head Jonathan Wheatley — are excluded. A separate $190 million cap governs power unit development. The combined ceiling sets a maximum regulated spend, but Audi's actual budget and what falls outside the caps — including driver fees at the top — means the true total outlay exceeds the headline figures. [Audi Media Center] [Auto Zeitung]
Audi's title partner is Revolut, the British fintech company, under a multi-year agreement announced in July 2025 and operational from the 2026 season. Technical partner bp has worked with Audi exclusively on sustainable fuels since late 2022, and the partnership was extended to a long-term sponsorship in July 2024. German sporting goods manufacturer adidas is the team's official apparel supplier. These three global partnerships — in financial services, energy, and consumer goods — represent a deliberate effort to diversify the commercial base beyond automotive sector sponsors. The Neuburg power unit site's operations are based in Germany, which Audi notes is the only F1 operational site in the country, giving the program a domestic-market narrative value as well. [SportsKhabri] [Audi AG] [Audi MediaCenter] [Audi]
Prize money allocation for the 2026 season is not itemised in the retrieved corpus. The $2 billion sponsorship figure cited by Audi refers to all F1 teams combined in 2024, not to Audi specifically.
Audi controls the team through a 100% acquisition of Sauber Holding AG, with Qatar's sovereign wealth fund as a minority investor and Volkswagen AG as the ultimate parent.
The ownership structure runs from Volkswagen AG through Audi AG to Sauber Holding AG, with Qatar Investment Authority holding a reported 30% minority stake acquired in late 2024. Audi's CEO has stated publicly that Audi will retain control regardless of further share sales.
Audi AG, via the Volkswagen Group, is the controlling owner of the Audi Formula One Team through a 100% equity stake in Sauber Holding AG. The acquisition was completed in early 2024, superseding an earlier plan that would have left Audi with 75% of the Swiss constructor. The previous majority shareholder was Islero Investments, controlled by Finn Rausing of the Tetra Pak family. The decision to move to 100% ownership, announced on 8 March 2024, gave Audi full control over all strategic and operational decisions. [Audi AG] [Formula One Group] [Autoweek] [Audi]
The Volkswagen Group is the ultimate beneficial owner of the team. Within the Audi corporate structure, the Formula One program is governed through three entities: Audi Motorsport AG, which operates the Hinwil chassis and race operations site; Audi Formula Racing GmbH, which operates the Neuburg power unit facility; and AUDI AG itself, which provides strategic steering and program activation. Oliver Hoffmann was appointed Chairman of the Board of Directors of all Sauber companies as part of the governance restructuring that accompanied the 100% acquisition. [PlanetF1] [Audi] [Audi AG]
In November 2024, Qatar Investment Authority — the sovereign wealth fund of the State of Qatar — signed definitive agreements to acquire a significant minority stake in Sauber Holding AG. Multiple press sources report the QIA stake at approximately 30%. The Race notes that the exact percentage has not been officially disclosed. The QIA investment is notable in the context of Formula One ownership more broadly: QIA is also a significant shareholder in Volkswagen AG itself, making its stake in the Audi F1 team a second exposure to the same corporate family. The investment brought external capital at scale into the program without requiring Audi to dilute operational control. [Formula One Group] [Autoweek] [PlanetF1] [The Race]
Audi CEO Gernot Döllner stated on 15 September 2026 that while investor interest in the team is growing, Audi will always retain control. This statement signals both that further minority stake sales are possible and that the governance architecture is designed to keep operational and strategic authority within Audi AG. The structure — a majority owner from a major automotive group, a sovereign wealth fund minority investor, and a listed parent — is consistent with the way Formula One team ownership has evolved since Liberty Media's acquisition of the commercial rights in 2017, which brought more institutional capital into the sport. [Nextgen-Auto]
The exact QIA stake percentage has not been officially confirmed; the 30% figure is widely cited in trade press but not disclosed in the definitive agreement announcement. The Race, which tracks F1 ownership systematically, characterises it as a significant minority with the exact figure undisclosed.
Mattia Binotto runs all three sites as CEO and Team Principal, reporting directly to Audi AG's CEO — a structure that concentrates authority at the top.
Former Ferrari Team Principal Mattia Binotto took charge of Audi's Formula One project in August 2024 and leads all three sites as the sole managing director of Audi Motorsport AG. Adam Baker, who designed the program's technical and financial concept from scratch in 2021, runs the Neuburg power unit operation as CEO of Audi Formula Racing GmbH.
Mattia Binotto is CEO and Team Principal of the Audi Revolut F1 Team, a role he took up in August 2024. He reports directly to Audi AG CEO Gernot Döllner. Binotto previously served as Team Principal at Scuderia Ferrari, a role he held until the end of the 2022 season after rising through Ferrari's engineering ranks from 1995 onward. His appointment brought the deepest Formula One team leadership experience available: he led Ferrari through several seasons of title challenges, managed a large factory team structure, and is familiar with the commercial and technical dynamics of competing at the front of the grid. The scale of what Audi is attempting — building a competitive works program from a midfield team base — is the kind of task Binotto's background was specifically designed to address. [Wikipedia] [Audi MediaCenter]
In practice, Binotto now holds broader authority than a conventional team principal role. Following the departure of Jonathan Wheatley as team operations head in March 2026, Binotto took on the team chief function as well, making him the sole managing director of Audi Motorsport AG and responsible for development activities across all three locations. This concentration of authority in one person carries both advantages — clear accountability, fast decision-making — and risks: the program has significant structural dependency on a single senior leader. [Wikipedia] [Audi MediaCenter]
Adam Baker leads the power unit program as CEO of Audi Formula Racing GmbH at the Neuburg site. Baker was the architect of Audi's Formula One concept: he joined Audi in 2021 and developed the technical, strategic, operational, and financial framework for the brand's first Formula One entry. His Formula One background spans Formula One work for three customer teams and three works teams between 2002 and 2009, finishing as BMW's head of race and test team operations for the F1 power unit. That BMW-era experience is directly relevant: BMW's abrupt Formula One exit in 2009 — which is how Sauber became an independent constructor — gives Baker an informed view of the risks that a major manufacturer faces when committing to the sport. [Audi]
The Audi F1 project's governance architecture places Oliver Hoffmann as Chairman of the Board of Directors of all Sauber companies, connecting the team's board governance to Audi AG's senior leadership. Mattia Binotto's direct line to Audi AG's CEO, combined with Hoffmann's board chairmanship, creates a two-tier oversight structure that is appropriate for a program of this financial scale. What is notable is that both Binotto and Baker bring first-hand experience of Formula One programs that ultimately ended — Ferrari's near-misses under Binotto, and BMW's withdrawal under Baker — which may shape the urgency with which they approach the 2030 championship target. [Audi AG]
Jonathan Wheatley's departure in March 2026 is mentioned in the Wikipedia source as a structural change; the circumstances of the departure are not detailed in the retrieved corpus.
Audi starts from the back of the grid with a new power unit and a team that finished last in 2025 — a genuine works entry, not a rebadge.
The 2026 technical regulation reset gave Audi the most favourable entry conditions a new manufacturer could find: every power unit was redesigned from scratch, meaning the performance gap between an established supplier and a new entrant narrowed significantly at the starting line.
Audi's route to Formula One is structurally distinct from most recent entries. Rather than purchasing a licence to use an existing power unit supplier — the customer team model — it acquired a constructor (Sauber), built a purpose-specific power unit facility (Audi Formula Racing GmbH in Neuburg), and entered 2026 with both its own chassis and its own engine. This is the integrated factory model used by Mercedes, Ferrari, and Red Bull (through Honda). The 2026 technical regulations, which introduced a substantially different power unit formula with a much higher proportion of hybrid electrical power, provided the most level starting point a new manufacturer could find: all existing suppliers had to redesign their units from scratch. [Wikipedia] [Audi AG] [Audi]
The AFR 26 Hybrid power unit, with approximately 50% of its drivetrain power coming from the electrical recovery system, represents the central technical differentiator of Audi's program. The power unit was developed at Neuburg — the only F1 power unit facility in Germany — over more than two years before the 2026 entry, passing through what Audi described as a successful setup phase. The chassis, the R26, is developed and assembled at Hinwil, the same factory that produced Sauber's cars through its decades as an independent constructor and as Alfa Romeo's works team. [Audi]
Audi's immediate competitive challenge is that the team, as Sauber, finished at the bottom of the Constructors' Championship in both 2024 and 2025. The 2025 Sauber team ran Ferrari power units — a customer supply arrangement — which was superseded by Audi's own power unit for 2026. Sauber's operational infrastructure and workforce, while experienced, carries the institutional habits of a mid-to-lower-grid team rather than a championship contender. Transforming that culture while simultaneously integrating a new power unit is the core competitive task Binotto and the leadership team face. [Sky Sports]
Revolut became the team's title partner ahead of 2026, completing a commercial transformation alongside the technical one. The team's stated competitive target — fighting for the World Championship by 2030 — implies accepting five years of building before expecting to challenge at the front. That is a credible timeline for a manufacturer starting from a midfield team base with a new power unit, but it assumes sustained financial commitment and no major setbacks in power unit reliability or chassis competitiveness in the intervening seasons. The acquisition of Sauber gave Audi an FIA-registered constructor with decades of continuous Formula One participation — an asset that could not be replicated through a new entry application — but it did not purchase performance. That part has to be earned. [DAZN] [Formula 1]
On-track performance data for the 2026 season (race results, championship points) is not included in the retrieved corpus beyond the team's stated 2030 target. No ranking or points comparison with other 2026 constructors can be made from the available facts.
Three named global sponsors — Revolut, bp, and adidas — anchor the commercial model, with title naming rights and long-term technical supply already locked in.
Audi secured its three headline commercial partners before its first race: Revolut as title partner from July 2025, bp as technical partner since late 2022, and adidas as apparel supplier — a sponsorship portfolio that covers the team's name, its fuel supply chain, and its race-day presentation.
Audi has announced three global companies as strategic partners for its Formula One project: bp, Revolut, and adidas. The Revolut deal, announced in July 2025, is the team's title partnership — meaning Revolut's name appears in the team's official FIA designation, Audi Revolut F1 Team. The multi-year nature of the agreement is confirmed in Audi's own materials; the financial terms have not been disclosed. Revolut, a British fintech company, gains naming rights on a globally televised platform, while Audi gains a non-automotive sponsor that signals relevance in the digital financial services sector — a departure from the petrol and tobacco sponsorships that historically dominated the sport. [Audi MediaCenter] [Audi] [SportsKhabri]
bp was the first official partner announced, in July 2024, building on an exclusive technical cooperation on sustainable fuels that began at the end of 2022. The sustainable fuels collaboration is material beyond its sponsorship value: Formula One's move to 100% sustainable fuels is a mandated technical transition, and having a dedicated partner with early exclusivity gives Audi a development advantage in that specific area. The bp relationship is both a revenue partnership and a supply chain dependency — the two are not easily separated. [Audi MediaCenter]
Adidas, the German sporting goods manufacturer, is the official apparel supplier and partner. The adidas relationship gives both companies a Germany-to-global narrative: two premium German brands competing on the highest-profile automotive motorsport platform. No financial terms for any of the three partnerships have been disclosed in the retrieved corpus. The commercial concentration — three named partners, all confirmed before the first race — is a reasonable starting portfolio for a new entrant, but it leaves the team some distance from the deeper sponsor stacks carried by established teams such as Mercedes or Red Bull, which typically count 20 or more named partners. Closing that gap is a multi-year commercial task that runs in parallel with the team's development on track. [Audi MediaCenter]
Sponsorship financial values are not disclosed for any of the three named partnerships. The Revolut, bp, and adidas deals are confirmed as multi-year, long-term, and exclusive (in bp's case on sustainable fuels), but contract lengths and annual values are not in the retrieved corpus.
From announcement to works team in four years — Audi executed the fastest major manufacturer Formula One entry in the modern era.
Audi announced its Formula One intention in August 2022, finalised the Sauber acquisition in March 2024, confirmed the Revolut title partnership in July 2025, and unveiled the R26 in January 2026 — a compressed timeline that reflects deliberate acceleration rather than a staged build.
The strategic sequence that created the Audi Formula One Team began with Adam Baker joining Audi in 2021 to develop the technical, strategic, operational, and financial concept for the brand's first Formula One involvement. The public announcement of Audi's Formula One intent came in August 2022, with Sauber confirmed as the strategic partner and designated works team from the 2026 season. The initial agreement envisaged a 75% Audi stake in Sauber; that was superseded in March 2024 when Audi announced it would take 100% of Sauber Holding AG, significantly expanding its commitment ahead of the entry year. [Audi] [Sauber Motorsport] [Autoweek]
The March 2024 acceleration also restructured the program's governance. Oliver Hoffmann took over responsibility for Audi's Formula One commitment and became Chairman of the Boards of Directors of all Sauber Group companies. The newly created oversight role was designed to unite all three pillars of the program — the Sauber chassis team, the Neuburg power unit operation, and Audi AG's strategic activation — under a single point of accountability above the team itself. Mattia Binotto was appointed CEO and Team Principal in August 2024, completing the senior leadership structure ahead of the launch year. [Audi] [Wikipedia]
Commercial milestones followed the governance restructuring. The Revolut title partnership was finalised in July 2025, and the team's full official name — Audi Revolut F1 Team — was announced on 15 December 2025. The R26 car was revealed at a global launch event in Berlin on 20 January 2026, the first physical manifestation of a program that had been in development for more than four years. Qatar Investment Authority's minority stake acquisition, announced at the 2024 Qatar Grand Prix in November, brought sovereign wealth capital into the program ahead of the entry year. [Formula 1] [Motorsport Magazine] [Audi AG] [Formula One Group]
Audi's stated competitive target is to be fighting for the World Championship by 2030. This is a management-level ambition, not a contractual commitment, but it sets a four-year window from the first race to sustained front-running. The strategic logic is that the 2026 regulation reset provides a compressed catch-up opportunity: if Audi's power unit is competitive from the outset, the team can develop the chassis to match rather than spending years closing a power deficit to established suppliers. The risk is symmetric — if the AFR 26 Hybrid is uncompetitive in 2026, the development gap to the leading manufacturers could widen rather than narrow over the first seasons. [Formula 1]
The 2022 public announcement date for Audi's Formula One entry is cited in multiple sources; the August 2022 date for the Sauber strategic partnership announcement is consistent across Sky Sports and Sauber's own press release.
The Neuburg site holds the FIA's highest environmental rating, but Audi Motorsport's employer scores fall below the automotive industry average.
Audi Revolut F1 Team's Neuburg power unit facility has received FIA Three-Star Environmental Accreditation — the framework's top tier. Separately, Audi Motorsport's employer rating on Kununu stands at 3.0 out of 5, below the 3.5 automotive industry average, based on 37 reviews since 2016.
The FIA awarded its Three-Star Environmental Accreditation — the highest level in its framework — to Audi Revolut F1 Team's Neuburg site following a comprehensive audit. The accreditation confirms that the systems in place to measure, manage, and improve environmental performance meet the FIA's top standard. For a brand positioning its Formula One entry as a marker of technological realignment, this accreditation carries internal and external value: it is a verifiable third-party validation rather than a self-declaration. Audi's stated ESG approach aligns environmental, social, and governance activities with the goal of contributing to a sustainable Formula One. [Audi Revolut F1 Team via LinkedIn] [Audi Media Center]
Audi describes the Formula One project as a strategic flagship intended to inspire both customers and employees. The employer perception data from Kununu partially challenges this framing: Audi Motorsport, based on 37 reviews since 2016, holds an average rating of 3.0 out of 5 on the platform — below the automotive industry average of 3.5. Based on reviews from the past two years, 57% of employees and applicants would recommend Audi Motorsport as an employer. These figures are drawn from a relatively small review base — 37 reviews over a decade is a thin sample for an organisation of over 1,100 staff — and the Kununu data covers Audi Motorsport broadly rather than the Formula One team specifically. The direction is nonetheless noteworthy: a program positioned as a cultural catalyst scores below sector norms on the one platform where automotive-sector employees report workplace experience. [Audi Media Center] [Kununu]
The sustainability narrative and the employer perception gap are not necessarily in conflict: the Neuburg site's environmental accreditation is about operational process management, while the Kununu scores reflect broader workforce experience that may predate the Formula One program's full activation. What both data points share is that they are externally verifiable benchmarks rather than self-reported metrics — which gives them more analytical weight than Audi's own strategic positioning statements. The employer perception trajectory warrants monitoring: a team aspiring to attract top engineering talent from across Europe needs to be a credible employment destination, and a below-average employer rating in a specialist, competitive talent market is a structural disadvantage.
The Kununu review base of 37 reviews since 2016 is below the threshold at which aggregate scores are considered highly representative. The data covers 'Audi Motorsport' as an employer entity and may not isolate the Formula One team from Audi's broader motorsport activities. These scores are classified LOW confidence per corpus guidance on review platforms with sub-100 review counts.
No material compliance breach is on record — but Audi's first regulatory dispute, over the Italian Grand Prix, reflects the team asserting its rights within the FIA system.
The Audi Revolut F1 Team lodged a notice of intention to appeal against the FIA stewards' decision not to penalise Yuki Tsunoda at the 2026 Italian Grand Prix, submitting the formal appeal within the 96-hour regulatory window. No cost cap or broader regulatory finding has been identified in the retrieved corpus.
Following the Italian Grand Prix on 7 September 2026, Audi raised a concern regarding the application of Article B5.9.4 of the FIA Sporting Regulations, which requires a driver who causes an extra formation lap to enter the pit lane and resume from there. The stewards issued a decision of No Further Action regarding Yuki Tsunoda's conduct under that article. Audi notified its intention to appeal that decision. The formal appeal was confirmed as submitted within the 96-hour window mandated by the regulations. The outcome of the appeal is not in the retrieved corpus. [Motorsport.com] [Crash.net]
The FIA's monitoring and enforcement framework applies to all Formula One teams on an ongoing basis. The FIA is responsible for monitoring compliance with the FIA F1 Regulations, investigating suspected non-compliance, and taking enforcement action. The FIA Cost Cap Administration separately monitors compliance with the Financial Regulations, with authority to investigate and take enforcement action for breaches. No investigation, finding, or cost cap breach relating to Audi has been identified in the retrieved corpus. The team's first season regulatory activity is, on the available evidence, limited to the sporting-rules dispute at Monza — a normal feature of competitive Formula One participation rather than a structural compliance concern. [FIA]
The Italian Grand Prix appeal outcome is not in the retrieved corpus. No FIA investigation or cost cap finding relating to Audi is present in the retrieved sources. Legal and regulatory standing is assessed as clean on the available evidence, with the Monza dispute noted as an ordinary sporting-rules matter.
Key things to remember
Analyst view On the evidence available, Audi's Formula One entry is structurally serious — a full factory team with its own chassis and power unit, three named global sponsors, a sovereign wealth fund co-investor, and a CEO with deep Formula One experience. [Audi AG] [Formula One Group] What distinguishes it from a marketing exercise is the integrated engineering model: power unit and chassis developed as a single concept, not a customer-engine arrangement. The condition that would change this view materially is any reduction in Volkswagen Group's financial commitment, which has not occurred in the corpus but which the scale of the automotive group's wider difficulties makes a genuine watch point. The team's own 2025 operating loss of $25 million at $240 million in revenue, before the higher costs of full works status in 2026, suggests the near-term financial trajectory is negative even within the FIA cost cap framework. [Forbes] [Sportune]
About About this report
This report covers the Audi Formula One Team — its business model, financial scale, ownership structure, leadership, competitive position, and strategic direction from its 2026 championship entry onward.
Written for journalists, potential partners, investors, and executives seeking a fact-based outside-in assessment before any significant engagement with the Audi Formula One program.
The report was synthesised from pre-verified sourced facts drawn from primary filings, official Audi communications, FIA regulatory documents, Formula One Group announcements, and quality independent press coverage.
The majority of sources are dated 2024–2026; financial data for 2025 reflects the final Sauber season before the Audi rebrand, and no audited Audi-era financials are yet publicly available.
Financial figures appear in the currencies used by their respective sources — primarily US dollars and euros. No currency conversions have been applied; where the same underlying figure is reported in both USD and EUR by different sources, both are noted.
Foundation Methods behind this report
Ren structures the evidence in this report using the methods below. They shape how the findings are organised and read.
Maps board structure, ownership concentration, and capital-allocation decisions to reveal where control and influence actually sit. Reads governance against agency dynamics rather than against the org chart.
Source: Established governance practice (agency theory; Jensen & Meckling, 1976)
Renatus applies the underlying principles of established methods and credits their origin where relevant. Named frameworks, methods, and instruments are the property of their respective owners. Reference to them does not imply endorsement or affiliation.
Sources Sources & Methodology
Research conducted 22 Sep 2026. All statistics carry inline citation markers.
This report is produced for informational purposes only. It does not constitute financial, legal, or investment advice. All data is sourced from publicly available information as at the date of research. Renatus Ventures makes no representations as to the completeness or accuracy of third-party data.
2025 revenue currency denomination — Forbes (2025): $240 million (USD) vs Sportune (2026): 240 million euros. Both sources appear to be reporting the same underlying disclosed figure; the magnitude is identical and the direction of the net result (-$25M / -25M euros) is consistent. This report presents both as reported without converting either, and notes the discrepancy in denomination. No authoritative audited filing is available to resolve which currency is correct.
Audi's total 2026 F1 budget vs combined FIA cap ceilings — Auto Zeitung (2026): $345 million total budget vs FIA Financial Regulations via Sportsorca: $215M team cap + $190M power unit cap = $405M combined ceiling. The Auto Zeitung figure reflects Audi's planned spend; the FIA figure is the maximum permitted under regulations. The gap reflects costs outside the cap scope. Both figures are cited as reported with their basis stated.
QIA stake percentage in Sauber Holding AG — Autoweek and PlanetF1: approximately 30% vs The Race: significant minority; exact percentage undisclosed. The official Formula One Group announcement confirmed a significant minority stake without naming a percentage. The 30% figure is from Autoweek and PlanetF1 trade press. This report uses 'reported 30%' throughout, preserving the qualification.
No audited financial statements for the Audi Formula One Team (post-2026 rebrand) are publicly available. All financial data relates to the predecessor Sauber team's 2025 season.
On-track performance data for the 2026 Formula One season — race results, championship points, constructor standings — is not included in the retrieved corpus and cannot be assessed.
Sponsorship financial terms for Revolut, bp, and adidas partnerships are not publicly disclosed. Commercial revenue contribution to the team's finances cannot be quantified.
The outcome of the FIA appeal following the Italian Grand Prix stewards' decision (September 2026) is not in the retrieved corpus.
Audi Motorsport's Kununu employer data covers only 37 reviews since 2016 — a thin sample relative to the organisation's 1,100-plus headcount — and cannot be treated as statistically representative.
Jonathan Wheatley's departure as team operations head in March 2026 is noted in the Wikipedia source but the circumstances are not detailed in the retrieved corpus.
Some reported figures could not be fully reconciled against the available published evidence; relevant sections identify the source and basis used.
$405 million (in “Cover (intelligence_brief) › body”) could not be verified against the retrieval corpus; the citation is retained but could not be confirmed from the retrieved sources.
$405 million (in “Cover (stats)”) could not be verified against the retrieval corpus; the citation is retained but could not be confirmed from the retrieved sources.